My Weekend In Nanyuki

The weekend of 11th – 13th  Decemeber 2015 was completely awesome. I turned 26 and to mark this major turn in my life, I decided to head for Nanyuki with my boyfriend.

We had the whole weekend planned to stay in a hotel named Leisure Gardens, all thanks to this amazing site we discovered Jovago. (This site is amazing, you can search the location you want to go an it has various hotels. Even better is that there is a discount for first time users:)

I got out work abit early on Friday so as to be able to hit the road and make it in time. Nanyuki is about 3 hours drive from Nairobi so together with Chebet (the name my boyfriend named his Subaru WRX) we were on our way!

 

The festive season is just about to begin so the police checks on the way are numerous. The fact that we were in a flashy Subaru dint help us either. We spend about three hundred shillings paying police men who requested to get something for ‘sikukuu’. It was outright bullying, however, that’s just how life is when you live in a corruption driven country.

We finally arrived at our destination at around 7 pm. We arrived and got into our hut. I name it that as it was exactly like a hut, everything in one room, and i mean everything!! This was going to be the weekend where there would be no more secrets between my boyfriend and I.

After unpacking, we headed to the restaurant and had some dinner and drinks.The next morning we were read to go around the town. After our breakfast, we headed out.

One of the coolest spots you must stop by is Sportsmans Arms. They have the discoteque, restaurant and pool. All the things you need to enjoy yourself in Kenya.

Here we had quite a number of drinks, and had a great time. It was quite hilarious to note that we blacked out at midnight! Age is really catching up with me! If it was 5 years ago, we would’ve partied till the break of dawn!!

On Sunday, we had our breakfast and enjoyed playing some pool and hiking in Leisure Gardens and after that hit the road back home.

I would like to thank Tim for an amazing weekend and Jovago, none of it would have been possible without your awesome offers.

 

 

Author: Sheznitt

A 26 year old editor, social media strategist and blogger. I love to write and am happy for the opportunity to entertain and inform you through my blogs.

Leave a Reply

